Beauty · reviews

SmoothSkin Gold IPL | Review

dsc_0006

I have finally completed my 12-week treatment regime with SmoothSkin Gold to get rid of my unwanted hair, and I’m honestly so impressed with the results.

When I attended Bloggers Ball back in June, I was drawn to the product immediately because I’d been hearing a lot about IPL treatments for hair removal and have wanted to try it myself. So I entered the competition they were holding and a few days later they tweeted me saying I had won my very own IPL device! I was thrilled and I couldn’t wait to try it.

So, what is IPL?

IPL stands for Intense Pulsed Light and it’s a technology – similar to laser – designed to help break the cycle of hair growth. The light energy penetrates just below the skin surface and is absorbed by the melanin in the hair shaft and converted into heat energy which disables the hair follicle preventing further growth. The treated hair then naturally falls out over the course of a few days.

How does SmoothSkin Gold IPL work?

The SmoothSkin IPL device has 2 skin tone sensors which register my skin tone to ensure it is suitable for the treatment and then selects the right setting for me. The power bars located on both sides of the handset light up once my skin tone has been registered and the number of lights it illuminates determine whether the treatment is suitable for me or not. Ten lights mean the skin is very light and therefore has the highest power setting, where as, no lights or a red light indicates that the skin is too dark to treat as it’s on its lowest power setting, and therefore unsuitable for the treatment as it requires more light energy due to the increase in melanin.

The handset also has a gentle mode feature if the treatment becomes uncomfortable or a bit painful. Although it doesn’t generally hurt, a slight burning sensation is felt on some areas of the body. This mode is best used on areas of the body which are delicate such as areas under the arm or above the lips. However, the Gentle Mode can reduce effectiveness of the system and you may need more treatments on these areas to see the desired effects.

SmoothSkin Gold recommends a 12-week programme in order to see a significant reduction in hair growth. And in order to make the treatment most effective, it is advised not to wax, epilate or pluck the hair in between treatments as this will remove the required hair shaft that absorbs the light energy.

In between treatments, you should also keep the skin moisturised as I didn’t do this at first, and felt my skin rough and flakey (ew!).

Does it work?

I’m not just saying this because the device was gifted to me, but in all honestly, it does!

Depending on your skin tone and the thickness of your hair, the treatment might take a bit longer in order to notice some significant changes. You will definitely not see any changes after the first week, that’s for sure. The regrowth of hair is much slower though, and by week four and five, I was shaving much less than I used to before.

By week eight, I was shaving a lot less and hardly at all by week ten. When I reached the end of the regime, I saw a massive change in the reduction of hair on my arms and armpits; hair on my legs grows a lot slower now and has become much finer. I only now use the device when required, but as the summer days are over and the air is turning cold and crips, I don’t think I’ll be using it that often.

Is it worth it?

If I hadn’t won this device, I feel like I would have invested in one nonetheless. SmoothSkin Gold starts from £249, but it includes 200,000 flashes which is said to last me 15 years! That’s a bargain if you think about it, and it’s a treatment done in the comfort of your own home. Going to the salon to do it would take much longer and would be far more expensive.

One thing that I didn’t quite enjoy about the device though, is that it has to remain plugged in for it to work. Sometimes the wire would get caught in something and disconnect really easily, so I had to use an extension so the wire could reach my bed and I could use it comfortably.

Overall, I am very impressed with the end result and although my hair hasn’t 100% disappeared, it is growing far slower than it used to and I am hardly shaving at all. The hair under my arms used to grow so quickly and now it hardly does at all! I know that if I continue with the treatment when required I will reach a hair-free state eventually.

I also want to thank Emily for the wonderful postcards I received every week during my regime. I thought that was such a unique and lovely touch to their service because it made it more personal and also gave me some really good tips.

I would rate this product a 4 out of 5.

Click here to check out their website and find out more information.

Have you guys used an IPL machine before? Would you want to try an IPL treatment?

Laila xo

 

2 thoughts on “SmoothSkin Gold IPL | Review

    1. It honestly is such a good investment! I had the same issue, but my hair now grows so much slower, and in some areas hardly at all, which I’m really happy about. I definitely recommend it 🙂 xo

      Like

Leave a Reply

